Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

I wanted you to know

The fifth song from Songwritings, with guest Jake Sanders
2

For anyone new here, Songwritings is a conversation between Kate van der Borgh (copywriter, D&AD Masterclass trainer, singer, musician) and Nick Asbury (copywriter, poet, Perpetual Disappointments Diarist, with a side interest in Tin Pan Alley songwriting). We write about music and share our own collaborations.

I wanted you to know

Too bad to hear you’re leaving.
I’m sorry to see you go.
I’m sad to hear you’re leaving.
And I wanted you to know.

I search for words and stumble,
and somehow lose the flow.
Beneath my breath I mumble
what I wanted you to know.

Deep in the days,
lost in the mist,
I wander through a maze
of turnings that I missed.

This sad piano playing
is the only way I know,
my only way of saying
what I wanted you to know.

Music: Jake Sanders
Voices & vocal arrangement: Kate van der Borgh
Lyrics: Nick Asbury


Happy to share this sad song (bonus lyric video included—also up on Soundcloud). Jake Sanders is a creative marketer and Grammy-nominated musician/composer based in Denver, Colorado. We’ll talk to him in the next post, and share the back story of how this came together.

audiocontentlab.com
twitter.com/posmarketer
whalehawk.bandcamp.com

Thanks as ever for reading, listening, liking, sharing, understanding.

2 Comments
Songwritings
Songwritings
Authors
Nick Asbury
Kate van der Borgh